Overview of US and EU Trade Sanctions

| |


US and EU trade sanctions change frequently. The specific US regulations implementing these restrictions are administered by the US Treasury Department’s Office of Foreign Assets Control (OFAC) and, in some instances (e.g., exports to Cuba, Russia/Ukraine, Syria, and North Korea), under the US Export Administration Regulations (EAR) administered by the US Commerce Department’s Bureau of Industry and Security (BIS). EU sanctions are administered and enforced by Member State enforcement authorities, which may also promulgate their own more restrictive sanctions regulations.

Following is a summary of the current US and EU sanctions that restrict trade with and/or investment in certain countries, “Specially Designated Nationals” (SDNs) and “Blocked Persons” listed by the US government, and Persons and Entities listed in EU Regulations. This summary identifies the general prohibitions without specifying all exceptions or available licenses.