Blue Gold? Opportunities and Challenges in US Offshore Wind

Überblick


Organized by the Washington, DC sub-chapter of the Association of International Petroleum Negotiators (AIPN), this panel discussion, moderated by McDermott Partner Christopher Gladbach, will discuss the opportunities in new offshore wind projects in the United States. What do these opportunities mean for companies that already have a wealth of investment and experience in offshore oil and gas development? What will the challenges be for these companies to shift from pursuing “black gold”, and could offshore wind be the new “blue gold”?

This panel of speakers will look at the US Atlantic Region and the Gulf of Mexico. Topics to be addressed include:

  • What are the federal plans for the Atlantic and Gulf of Mexico for offshore wind development? How might these plans change under a Biden Administration?
  • What are some of the top development federal and state permitting challenges to expanding offshore wind beyond current forecasts? How are regulators and industry leaders resolving these?
  • How are “traditional” oil companies with offshore investments viewing new opportunities in offshore wind? Are there significant potential synergies? How is the robust entry by IOCs affecting the market?
  • How might the oil and gas community in the GOM benefit from and partner with the offshore wind industry over the coming years?
  • What are the key challenges for financing offshore wind over the coming decade? Speakers will discuss tax equity, debt, and the private and institutional equity markets.

REGISTRATION INFORMATION

Time
11:00 am EDT | 10:00 am CDT  |  3:00 pm GMT

ANSPRECHPARTNER