McDermott Advises Pfeifer & Langen on the Acquisition of a Majority Stake in Rügenwalder Mühle - McDermott Will & Emery

McDermott Advises Pfeifer & Langen on the Acquisition of a Majority Stake in Rügenwalder Mühle


Düsseldorf, November 28, 2023 – McDermott Will & Emery has advised the family holding Pfeifer & Langen Industrie- und Handels-KG on the acquisition of a majority stake in the family-owned company Rügenwalder Mühle. The closing of the transaction is subject to approval by the antitrust authorities.

If the investment is approved, Rügenwalder Mühle will be organizationally linked to the business unit “The Nature’s Richness Group” of Pfeifer & Langen IHKG. This bundles various “from field to fork” investments, including “endori”, a manufacturer of meat alternatives made from plant protein. Both brands – “Rügenwalder Mühle” and “endori” – will continue to operate independently in the new constellation.

A McDermott team led by Dr Philipp Grenzebach advised Pfeifer & Langen IHKG and The Nature’s Richness Group on the bidding process, the due diligence and the negotiation of both the purchase agreement and the shareholders’ agreement.

Pfeifer & Langen Industrie- und Handels-KG is a family-owned company whose origins go back more than 150 years. The Pfeifer & Langen Group unites leading companies in the food industry, including the sugar and savory snacks sectors.

Rügenwalder Mühle Carl Müller GmbH & Co. KG has been offering vegetarian and vegan meat and sausage alternatives in addition to traditional meat and sausage products since the end of 2014 and is now one of the leading companies in Germany in this segment.

The McDermott team advising Pfeifer & Langen Industrie- und Handels-KG / Nature’s Richness Group was led by partner Dr Philipp Grenzebach and comprised partners Dr Norbert Schulte, Christian Krohs, Dr Sandra Urban-Crell, Dr Alexa Ningelgen and Thomas Beisken, counsels Carina Kant, Jana Grieb, Dr Antje Weiss and Marcus Fischer as well as associates Sebastian Klein, Annabelle Juliette Rau, Dr Alexander Hoppe, Dr Frederic Peine, Max Küttner, Lea Hauser, Julian Rößler-Weis, Dr Katharina Hoffmeister, Lukas Deutzmann, Dr Tim Weill, Tobias Zorn, Carolin Irla and Maximilian von den Benken.

Media Contacts